Skip to main content

Lowndes/Valdosta Arts Commission welcomes new board members

The Lowndes-Valdosta Arts Commission (LVAC) is proud to announce the appointment of five new board members who will each serve a three-year term, beginning in the 2019-2020 fiscal year.

Joining an existing Board of Directors comprised of 30 members are (pictured in front row, from left) Roni King Strickland, Jennifer Powell, Nancy McGee, Cheryl Oliver and Allen Lehmann. Also pictured in second row is LVAC Board President Jeani Synyard and Turner Center Executive Director Sementha Mathews.

“We are excited to have these talented, like-minded individuals on our team, officially,” said Synyard. “These key players have been instrumental in the growth of the Turner Center and we have no doubt they will continue being strong advocates for us and the arts community.”

The LVAC also said farewell to Rev. Peter Ingeman (pictured with Synyard, LVAC Board President), but he will only be missed at monthly board meetings. Rev. & Mrs. Ingeman continue to be influential, treasured members and volunteers of the Turner Center.

For more information about the Lowndes-Valdosta Arts Commission and the Turner Center for the Arts, please visit, call us at 229-247-2787 or visit us at 527 N. Patterson St.

A complete list of board members can be found here.